krotchocolate.blogg.se

Is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business
Is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business










  1. Is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business portable#
  2. Is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business Pc#

That’s when Radio Shack’s soul began to fade, I think. Tandy sold its computer manufacturing assets to AST Computers in the early ’90s and then began selling third party systems, such as Compaq PCs. The last one I remember, shortly before Tandy stopped making their own systems, was the Tandy Sensation Multimedia PC, notable for sporting 24-bit (16.7 million colors) video hardware. I saw lots of computers come and go on the Radio Shack floor. I remember writing a review of it and posting it on a local BBS called Volksboard TBBS.

is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business

The 1000TL is the first system in which I ever used a hard drive. The system I speak of is the Tandy 1000TL, an odd configuration of an 80286 sitting in an 8088 motherboard with unusually capable audio hardware and MS-DOS v3.3 in ROM.

is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business

More specifically, I purchased the same model - twice ( in 1989 and then 1990, first at the Radio Shack in Newmarket South shopping center in Hampton, VA and then at the Newmarket North store, across the street). Over the years I bought a lot of gadgets and parts at Radio Shack stores (some that I recall are in the collage above), but only one computer. It had an easter egg in ROM that displayed a monochrome image of the machine’s designers on the screen and I would always kick that off, whenever I came across one in a store. The CoCo 3 ended up being the last of that 6809-based series, and is arguably one of the most powerful 8-bit home computers ever made.

Is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business Pc#

I did end up getting a Model 4, but relatively recently (well, 7 years ago as I write this…), not way back when.Īs time went by, I specifically recall the arrival, on the sales floor, of the odd little MC-10, the CoCo 2, the laptop Model 100 (which was pretty great), the impressive PC “compatible” Tandy 2000 (one of the few systems to run on an 80186), and then the rather more compatible Tandy 1000, an IBM PCjr clone. The woman showing off the system told me I should wait, though - the improved Model 4 was just a few months away. I was 10 at the time and had a TI-99/4A system, but I really wanted that Model III. I remember spending a lot of time with a Model III they had on display on day, chatting with a saleswoman who was showing me the different features. I would sit down in front of those all-in-one systems and type things into their TRS-DOS command lines…but I didn’t know any of the commands.īack in 1983, the Radio Shack at our local mall (Coliseum Mall in Hampton, VA) had a big computer display set up as an island out in front of the store. The TRS-80 Model II with its 8-inch floppy drives looked, to me, like an intimidatingly powerful computer. (Weak joysticks, though.) The more business-oriented machines were intriguing to me, as well. I used to love playing the CoCo version of Mega-Bug with its nifty little magnifying glass effect - it was always a treat to find that running in the store. I would spend a lot of time on the TRS-80 Color Computer, playing whatever cartridges were laying out. I started taking an interest in the computer displays around 1981, as I recall. The things I was most interested in, of course, were the computers. I was often there with him or in a store on my own while my mother shopped down at the mall. (It was a hurricane that, ultimately, destroyed the house I grew up in.)ĭad was a NASA engineer and, unsurprisingly, enjoyed poking around the local Radio Shacks (in the Hampton Roads area of Virginia) with some frequency. I recall getting front-line weather news way back when via our Realistic Weatheradio, perched atop the kitchen fridge.

is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business

I grew up along the York River in York County, VA and, living on the water in that region, hurricanes were something we had to watch out for.

Is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business portable#

He took me to a Radio Shack a few stores down the way and bought me a portable AM transistor radio ( this model but black, not red). My dad told me to come with him, as there was something I’d probably like better than the toy. I was with my mom and dad in a shopping mall in Harrisonburg, VA, wanting some toy from a toy store there.

is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business

I recall finding that pretty amazing.) The next memory I have is of the first time I recall being inside a Radio Shack store. (A crystal radio is a passive receiver that requires no external power source. The first memory I have, connected with Radio Shack, is the crystal radio kit my father gave me when I was about seven years old. The purpose of this post is to share my memories of the Radio Shack that once was. And that’s where I will leave the matter of their decline, as the purpose of this post is not to malign the once mighty, fallen. And there can be no doubt that everyone reading this saw the writing on the wall years ago. As everyone reading this is surely aware, Radio Shack has very recently filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection and is in the process of closing 1784 of their stores.












Is the barre vermont radio shack going out of business